EAF hot-rolled sections
Wide-flange, UB / UC, HEA / HEB and channels from scrap-based EAF mills with product EPDs – typically a fraction of the blast-furnace footprint.
Détails et tableaux →
Sustainability · Green steel
World Steel fabricates structural steel from mills with verified carbon data – EAF and low-carbon sections and plate, ResponsibleSteel-certified sites, products with EPDs – and documents the embodied carbon of your steel package for LEED, Green Star, Green Mark, Buy Clean and CBAM.

Almost all of the embodied carbon of a steel structure comes from making the steel, not from fabricating it. “Green steel” therefore means steel from a production route with a lower, verified carbon footprint – mainly electric-arc-furnace (EAF) steel made from scrap, and in future hydrogen-based direct reduced iron – documented in an Environmental Product Declaration (EPD) or a recognised certification.
World Steel does not make steel; we buy plate, sections and hollow sections and turn them into certified structures. That makes the mill choice the biggest carbon lever we control for you: we propose mills and products with the data your rating tool or authority accepts, keep heat-number traceability from the mill certificate to every piece, and add the fabrication, coating and transport data to give a complete carbon statement for the steel package.
Green steel products
Available per project from mills with verified data – the choice depends on the market, section range, programme and budget.
Wide-flange, UB / UC, HEA / HEB and channels from scrap-based EAF mills with product EPDs – typically a fraction of the blast-furnace footprint.
Détails et tableaux →Plate for welded sections, base plates and connections from EAF or certified mills, with EPD or ISO 14067 data.
Détails et tableaux →HSS / CHS / RHS from coil or plate of mills with verified data – checked against GWP limits such as Buy Clean California.
Détails et tableaux →Zinc and Al-Zn coated steel from ResponsibleSteel-certified sites with EPDs – including NS BlueScope Vietnam.
Détails et tableaux →Scrap-based EAF bar and rod for anchor bolts, rebar and fixings where the specification asks for it.
Détails et tableaux →Galvanizing and coating systems chosen for the design life – the lowest-carbon steel is the steel you never replace.
Détails et tableaux →World Steel structures
Sections and plate from mills with EPDs, ISO 14067 footprints or ResponsibleSteel certification when the project requires it.
Heat numbers link each member to its mill certificate and carbon data – the basis of an honest carbon statement.
Tapered and built-up members, optimised connections and value engineering reduce tonnage before any green premium is paid.
EAF sections are made mainly from scrap, and every World Steel structure is 100 % recyclable at the end of its life.
Coating systems chosen for the corrosivity category and design life – no early repainting or replacement.
Bolted connections allow frames to be dismantled, moved and reused – the lowest-carbon steel of all.
Normes et conformité
What rating tools and authorities typically ask for steel – confirm the version and credit in your project.
Synthèse fournie à titre indicatif – le cahier des charges du projet, l'édition du code adoptée et l'autorité compétente prévalent.
Carbon documentation
Prepared per project from the mill data of the steel actually supplied.
EN 15804 · ISO 21930 · ISO 14067
Product EPDs or verified carbon footprints for the sections and plate used.
heat number → piece mark
Mill certificates linked to every assembly in the model.
A1–A3 + fabrication
Tonnage-weighted embodied carbon of the steel package, with the basis of each figure.
EU imports
Embedded-emissions data from the mills for your CBAM declaration.
Steelmaking routes
The route decides the footprint. In 2024 the blast furnace – basic oxygen route averaged 2.34 t CO2 per tonne of crude steel, gas-based DRI-EAF 1.47 t and scrap-based EAF 0.69 t; the world average was 1.92 t (worldsteel). The IEA defines near-zero emission steel as 50–400 kg CO2e per tonne, depending on the scrap share.
Product EPDs show the same spread: EAF hot-rolled sections have published cradle-to-gate values of roughly 300–750 kg CO2e/t, while blast-furnace hot-rolled coil is typically above 2,000 kg CO2e/t. That is why the mill and route are specified first.

Physical or certificate?
Physically lower-carbon steel – EAF, scrap-based or hydrogen-based – has a lower footprint in its own EPD. It counts in building life-cycle assessments and against GWP limits such as Buy Clean California, which require facility-specific EPDs.
Mass-balance certificates allocate a steelmaker’s company-wide emission reductions to selected products. They are verified (by DNV, ClassNK or TÜV, for example) and support a buyer’s Scope 3 reporting, but worldsteel’s own guidelines keep them outside the product carbon footprint and several NGOs criticise them as misleading.
World Steel states the basis of every claim in its proposal, so your consultant can count it correctly.
Certifications explained
The schemes that prove a steel’s carbon performance – and what each one actually certifies.
| Scheme | Owner | What it proves | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ResponsibleSteel | ResponsibleSteel | Site certification against 13 principles (GHG, sourcing, labour, environment); "Certified Steel" with decarbonisation Progress Levels 1–4 | source |
| EPD – ISO 14025 · EN 15804+A2 · ISO 21930 | Programme operators (EPD International, IBU, EPD Australasia, UL, SuMPO…) | Third-party verified life-cycle data per product – GWP in kg CO2e per tonne (A1–A3 cradle-to-gate) | source |
| ISO 14067 | ISO | Verified carbon footprint of a product | source |
| ISO 14064-1 | ISO | Verified greenhouse-gas inventory of a site or company | source |
| ISO 20915 · ISO 14404 | ISO / worldsteel | Life-cycle inventory and site CO2-intensity methods for steel | source |
| Steel Climate Standard | Global Steel Climate Council | Certifies lower-carbon flat and long products against a declining t CO2e/t benchmark; offsets excluded | source |
| Near-zero emission steel | IEA | 50–400 kg CO2e per tonne of crude steel depending on scrap share | source |
| LESS – Low Emission Steel Standard | WV Stahl (Germany) | Label classes A–E and "Near Zero" based on product carbon footprint and scrap share | source |
| SteelZero | Climate Group | Buyer commitment: 50 % lower-emission steel by 2030, 100 % net-zero steel by 2050 | source |
| Buy Clean California | California DGS | Maximum GWP for public works: fabricated hot-rolled sections 1,080 · HSS 1,830 · plate 1,590 kg CO2e/t (facility-specific EPD) | source |
| EU CBAM | European Commission | Embedded emissions of imported iron and steel goods (incl. CN 7308 structures) reported and priced from 2026 | source |
| worldsteel Chain of Custody guidelines | World Steel Association | Rules for mass-balance reduction certificates – kept outside the product carbon footprint | source |
Summary for orientation – check the current version of each scheme and the requirement of your rating tool or authority.
Mill directory
Sourced from certification registers and mill publications, October 2026. Use the tabs: ResponsibleSteel sites, low-carbon products, Vietnamese mills.
| Site | Company | Country | Certified | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BlueScope ASP Manufacturing Cluster (Port Kembla etc.) | BlueScope | Australia | 2022-02-01 | Core site certification |
| voestalpine Linz | voestalpine | Austria | 2021-10-07 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Belgium | ArcelorMittal | Belgium | 2021-07-19 | Core site certification |
| Aperam Stainless Europe, Belgium and France | Aperam | Belgium/France | 2021-09-20 | Core site certification |
| Aperam Inox América do Sul S/A | Aperam | Brazil | 2023-01-16 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Brasil Monlevade | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2022-12-20 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Brasil S.A. Pecém | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2026-04-28 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Brasil S.A., Sul Fluminense | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2024-10-30 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Juiz de Fora | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2024-10-30 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Piracicaba | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2024-10-30 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Sabará and São Paulo | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2024-10-30 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Tubarão | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2025-06-07 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Vega | ArcelorMittal | Brazil | 2026-03-10 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Dofasco G.P. | ArcelorMittal | Canada | 2024-01-11 | Core site certification |
| Outokumpu Business Line Stainless Europe | Outokumpu | Europe | 2024-03-15 | Core site certification |
| Outokumpu Business Line Advanced Materials | Outokumpu | Europe | 2024-03-15 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Construction France | ArcelorMittal | France | 2024-10-04 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal France, Cluster North | ArcelorMittal | France | 2022-05-12 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Méditerranée | ArcelorMittal | France | 2022-05-02 | Core site certification |
| Industeel | Industeel | France/Belgium | 2023-11-17 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Bremen GmbH | ArcelorMittal | Germany | 2024-07-19 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Duisburg | ArcelorMittal | Germany | 2024-03-25 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Eisenhüttenstadt GmbH | ArcelorMittal | Germany | 2021-07-19 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Hamburg GmbH | ArcelorMittal | Germany | 2026-01-20 | Core site certification |
| thyssenkrupp Steel Europe AG | thyssenkrupp Steel | Germany | 2025-06-06 | Core site certification |
| JSW Steel Coated Products Ltd, Tarapur | JSW Steel | India | 2025-02-18 | Core site certification |
| JSW Steel Dolvi | JSW Steel | India | 2025-02-18 | Core site certification |
| JSW Steel Salem | JSW Steel | India | 2025-02-18 | Core site certification |
| JSW Steel Vijayanagar Works | JSW Steel | India | 2025-02-18 | Core site certification |
| Tata Steel Jamshedpur | Tata Steel | India | 2022-10-28 | Core site certification |
| Tata Steel Kalinganagar | Tata Steel | India | 2024-01-15 | Core site certification |
| Tata Steel Meramandali | Tata Steel | India | 2023-12-19 | Core site certification |
| Acciai Speciali Terni | Acciai Speciali Terni | Italy | 2024-04-29 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Belval & Differdange S.A. | ArcelorMittal | Luxembourg | 2021-07-19 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Warszawa Sp. z o.o. | ArcelorMittal | Poland | 2023-02-24 | Core site certification |
| SIJ – Slovenska Industrija Jekla | SIJ | Slovenia | 2024-03-27 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal España S.A. | ArcelorMittal | Spain | 2022-05-13 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Sestao | ArcelorMittal | Spain | 2025-10-03 | Core site certification |
| ArcelorMittal Tailored Blanks Zaragoza S.L. | ArcelorMittal | Spain | 2023-07-05 | Core site certification |
| Borçelik Çelik Sanayii Ticaret A.Ş. (Gemlik) | Borçelik | Türkiye | 2023-07-24 | Core site certification |
| Emirates Steel Industries Co. PJSC (EMSTEEL) | EMSTEEL | UAE | 2025-06-13 | Core site certification |
| Big River Steel (Arkansas) | U.S. Steel | USA | 2022-04-04 | Core site certification |
| Big River Steel (Arkansas) | U.S. Steel | USA | 2024-08-09 | Certified Steel · Progress Level 1 |
| NS BlueScope Vietnam (Phu My, Ba Ria-Vung Tau) | BlueScope / NS BlueScope | Vietnam | 2024-02-26 | Core site certification |
From the ResponsibleSteel register of issued certificates, published 6 Oct 2026. Certificates have expiry dates and re-audits – confirm the current status on responsiblesteel.org before specifying.
| Mill | Country | Product | Basis | Verification / data | Products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salzgitter / Peiner Träger | Germany | SALCOS® beams and sections | Physical – EAF (scrap) | IBU EPD: 299 kg CO2e/t (A1–A3) | Hot-rolled H / I sections | source |
| Steel Dynamics – Columbia City | USA | Hot-rolled structural sections | Physical – EAF | ASTM EPD 1075: 664 kg CO2e/t (742 without RECs) | Wide-flange sections | source |
| ArcelorMittal | Global | XCarb® recycled and renewably produced · XCarb® certificates | Physical (EAF + renewable power) · certificates (mass balance) | EPDs for XCarb sections; certificates verified by DNV | Sections, merchant bars, flat | source |
| SSAB | Sweden / Finland / USA | SSAB Zero™ · Fossil-free™ steel | Physical – recycled EAF; H2-DRI (pilot volumes) | Mill data | Plate and strip | source |
| Nucor | USA | Econiq® | EAF + renewable electricity + offsets | Mill claim (certifier not named) | Wide flange, HSS, plate, joists, deck | source |
| Tokyo Steel | Japan | Non-fossil-powered hot-rolled coil | Physical – EAF + non-fossil power | EPD (Dec 2025) | Hot-rolled coil | source |
| Hyundai Steel | South Korea | HyECOsteel | Process change – EAF hot metal combined with BF | Internal ISO 14044 calculation; EPDs for plate / HR | Plate, hot-rolled | source |
| U.S. Steel – Big River Steel | USA | ResponsibleSteel Certified Steel | Physical – EAF | ResponsibleSteel Progress Level 1 | Flat-rolled | source |
| BlueScope | Australia | Hot-rolled coil, coated steel | Responsible production – BF-BOF | ResponsibleSteel site; EPD HRC 2,340 kg CO2e/t | HRC, plate, coated sheet | source |
| Nippon Steel | Japan | NSCarbolex® Neutral | Certificate – mass balance | ClassNK assurance; SuMPO EPD for H-shapes | H-shapes, plate and all products | source |
| JFE Steel | Japan | JGreeX™ | Certificate – mass balance | ClassNK assurance | On request | source |
| Kobe Steel | Japan | Kobenable® Steel | Certificate – mass balance (HBI in BF) | DNV | Sheet, plate, wire rod, bar | source |
| POSCO | South Korea | Greenate certified steel | Certificate – mass balance | DNV | Not specified | source |
| thyssenkrupp Steel | Germany | bluemint® Steel | Allocated reductions (pure) · scrap in BF (recycled) | TÜV SÜD · DNV | Flat (HRC, coated) | source |
| Tata Steel Nederland | Netherlands | Zeremis® Carbon Lite | Certificate – mass balance (insetting) | DNV | Flat products | source |
| JSW Steel | India | GreenEdge | Certificate – emission reduction certificates | Third-party verified (not named) | Not specified | source |
"Physical" = the steel itself has a lower footprint (shown in its EPD). "Certificate – mass balance" = company-level reductions allocated to the product; it supports the buyer's Scope 3 reporting but not a lower product EPD value. Brands are trademarks of their owners.
| Mill | Credential | Products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| NS BlueScope Vietnam (Phu My) | ResponsibleSteel core site certification – first in South-East Asia (Feb 2024, BSI); EPD for coated steel (EN 15804+A2) | Coated sheet for roofing, walls, purlins | source |
| Hoa Phat Dung Quat | ISO 14064-1 GHG inventory and ISO 14067 product carbon footprint, verified by BSI | HRC, rebar, wire rod | source |
| Formosa Ha Tinh Steel | ISO 14067 (2023), ISO 14064 (2023) and EPD (2026) reported | HRC, plate, wire rod | source |
| VAS Nghi Son | EPD for scrap-based steel reported (2024) | Billet, rebar | source |
Vietnam's pilot emissions trading scheme (Decree 06/2022 as amended by Decree 119/2025) gives allowances to 25 iron and steel facilities for 2025–2026. Credentials listed from public sources – absence from this list does not mean a mill has none.
Processus
Rating credit, GWP limit or buyer commitment.
Routes, EPDs and certificates per product.
Reduce tonnage in design and detailing.
Mill orders with carbon data and traceability.
Certified fabrication, heat numbers tracked.
Carbon statement and EPDs at handover.
Livraison · Incoterms® 2020
World Steel cote départ usine, franco à bord ou rendu à votre port ou chantier. L'emballage export, les documents et l'expédition depuis Hô Chi Minh-Ville font partie du service.
Comparer les Incoterms® 2020 →Aussi selon le projet ou sur demande : EXW · FAS · DAP · DPU · DDP
FAQ
No – World Steel is a fabricator. We source plate, sections and hollow sections from mills with verified low-carbon data and certifications, fabricate them under our certified quality systems and document the carbon of the steel package.
Most often EAF hot-rolled sections and plate with product EPDs, steel from ResponsibleSteel-certified sites, and coated sheet with EPDs for the envelope. Availability depends on the section range, the market and the programme – we propose options with each quotation.
An EPD is verified life-cycle data for a product – its real footprint. A mass-balance certificate allocates a steelmaker’s company-wide reductions to a product and does not change its EPD value. Rating tools and Buy Clean limits use EPDs.
Not by itself. Core site certification covers responsible production across 13 principles; only “ResponsibleSteel Certified Steel” carries a decarbonisation Progress Level from 1 to 4.
For fabricated hot-rolled sections the limit is 1,080 kg CO2e/t with a facility-specific EPD; EAF mills with published EPDs below that value can meet it. We confirm the mill and EPD before quoting.
Yes – fabricated structures under CN 7308 are CBAM goods. Importers need the embedded emissions of the steel; we provide the mill data for the declaration.
Often, depending on the mill and market. Reducing tonnage through design optimisation usually saves more carbon per dollar, so we do both.
Tell us your rating tool, carbon target or GWP limit – we propose mills, products and documentation with the quotation.